Difference between Chaitra Navratri and Sharad Navratri

Reading time- 5 mins

India, a land of diverse cultures and traditions, celebrates Navratri not once, but twice a year with great enthusiasm and devotion. Navratri, meaning ‘nine nights,’ is a Hindu festival dedicated to Goddess Durga and her various forms. These two celebrations, Chaitra Navratri and Sharad Navratri, hold unique significance and are observed at different times of the year. In this blog, we’ll explore why Navratri is celebrated twice in India and delve into the captivating mythological stories behind the divine forms of Maa Durga.

  • Chaitra Navratri: Welcoming Spring

Chaitra Navratri falls in the Chaitra month of the Hindu calendar, typically in March or April. This festival marks the beginning of spring when nature awakens, and new life blossoms. During these nine days, devotees pay homage to Goddess Durga and seek her blessings for prosperity and good fortune.

Chaitra Navratri is believed to commemorate the day when Lord Rama, accompanied by his brother Lakshmana and devotee Hanuman, worshiped Goddess Durga to seek her blessings before embarking on his epic journey to rescue his wife, Sita, from the demon king Ravana. It symbolizes the victory of good over evil and the triumph of righteousness. The culmination of Chaitra Navratri is celebrated as Ram Navami.

  • Sharad Navratri: Celebration of the Harvest

Sharad Navratri, also known as Maha Navratri, is the more widely celebrated of the two. It falls in the lunar month of Ashwin, usually in September or October when the monsoon season ends and the country gears up for the harvest season. This grand festival celebrates the divine feminine and the goddess’s prowess in defeating the buffalo demon, Mahishasura.

According to Hindu mythology, Mahishasura was a formidable demon who terrorized the gods. He received a boon from Lord Agni, according to which a woman would only kill him. Unable to defeat him, the gods created Goddess Durga, a symbol of ultimate feminine power. Durga fought Mahishasura for nine days and nights, ultimately slaying him on the tenth day, known as Vijayadashami or Dussehra. Sharad Navratri symbolizes the victory of good over evil, knowledge over ignorance, and light over darkness. It is the ultimate celebration of divine female energies.

Young girls all over India are worshipped as devotees who believe that the Devi resides in little girls.

Maa Durga is depicted in 9 various forms, each with its own significance and attributes, to defeat the shape-shifting demon: Mahishasura. During Navratri, these forms are celebrated on specific days, known as ‘Navadurga.’ Let’s explore some of the most renowned forms:

  1. Shailaputri: The first form of Durga, she is the daughter of the Himalayas and represents the purity and innocence of nature.
  • Brahmacharini: She symbolizes the pursuit of knowledge and is often depicted holding a rosary and a water pot.
  • Chandraghanta: This form represents bravery and courage, as she adorns a crescent moon-shaped ornament on her forehead.
  • Kushmanda: The creator of the universe, Kushmanda signifies the source of all energy and vitality.
  • Skandamata: As the mother of Lord Kartikeya, she stands for the power of a mother’s love and protection.
  • Katyayani: This fierce form of Durga is worshiped for her ability to destroy evil forces and protect her devotees.
  • Kalratri: Depicting the dark side of life, she is a symbol of destruction and liberation from ignorance.
  • Mahagauri: This form represents purity and is often depicted in white attire, symbolizing peace and serenity.
  • Siddhidatri: The final form of Durga, Siddhidatri is believed to grant devotees spiritual powers and enlightenment.

Navratri is a spiritually enriching festival that honors the divine feminine. Whether it’s the arrival of spring during Chaitra Navratri or the harvest season of Sharad Navratri, both celebrations remind us of the importance of faith, perseverance, and the victory of good over evil. The diverse forms of Maa Durga teach us valuable life lessons and inspire us to live virtuously.

Gujratis celebrate Navratri through vibrant Garba and Dandiya Raas dances, while in Bengal, this festival is celebrated as Durga Puja, which involves worshiping the goddess Durga with grand processions and cultural events. So, they celebrate Navratri, but how it’s celebrated varies.

This Navaratri, bring home the divine presence of Goddess Durga with the Navaratri-Durga Puja Kit from Prabhu Shriram- Incense with a Story.

This pack contains-

  • Mata Vaishno Devi Agarbatti                                    
  • Upasana Dhoop
  • Sambrani Cups
  • Havan Samagri
  • Divya Jyot
  • Mauli Dhaga
  • Guggal Loban
  • Jau
  • Pavitra Ganga Sand Soil
  • Red Cloth
  • Mata Chunri
  • Laung
  • Supari
  • Sindoor/Roli
  • Haldi
  • Akshat
  • Mishri/Kaju/Kishmish/Elaichi
  • Camphor


About Prabhu Shriram-Incense With A Story

Welcome to the enchanting realm of Prabhu Shriram – Incense With A Story, where fragrances weave tales of rich Indian art, culture, and traditions. Our brand is dedicated to the creation of a unique range of incense sticks and related products, combining captivating aromas with revolutionary packaging. Crafted from a harmonious blend of Ayurvedic herbs and nature-inspired fragrances, Prabhu Shriram – Incense With A Story, stands out as the fastest-growing company in its niche. With a widespread presence across India and a burgeoning footprint in the international market, our brand embraces both online and offline avenues, including websites, general trade, modern trade, export, and institutional sales.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.